Sunday, June 30, 2013

Field Guide to Dark Fiction - Bibliography

Posted by LD Keach on Sunday, June 30, 2013

Markets Surveyed


(This means the author has read at least one full issue or novel/anthology, and in many cases more than one, because she isn't sleeping much these days, and really, what else is there to do but read a pile of awesome dark spec fic and horror?) 

Cemetery Dance http://www.cemeterydance.com/page/CDP/CTGY/MAGS
Shock Totem http://www.shocktotem.com/
Shimmer http://www.shimmerzine.com/
Electric Velocipede http://www.electricvelocipede.com/guidelines/
Magazine of Bizarro Fiction http://bizarrocentral.com/magazine/
Eraserhead Press http://eraserheadpress.com/
Atlatl Press http://atlatlpress.com/
Bourbon Penn http://www.bourbonpenn.com/
Shroud Magazine http://www.shroudmagazine.com/
Chizine http://www.chizine.com/
Magazine of Sci Fi and Fantasy http://www.sfsite.com/fsf/
Clarksworld http://clarkesworldmagazine.com/
Apex Magazine http://www.apex-magazine.com/
Weird Tales http://weirdtalesmagazine.com/
Blood Moon Rising http://www.bloodmoonrisingmagazine.com/
Mixer http://mixerpublishing.com/
Ideomancer http://www.ideomancer.com/
Schlock Magazine http://www.schlockmagazine.net/
Burial Day Books http://www.burialday.com/gothic-blue-book
Medallion Press http://medallionmediagroup.com/
Dark Regions Press http://www.darkregions.com/
Stupefying Stories http://www.rampantloonmedia.com/
Dagan Books http://daganbooks.com/
The Best Horror of the Year 1,4  http://www.nightshadebooks.com/catalog/
Red Rum Horror http://redrumhorror.com/
Cheeky Frawg Books http://www.cheekyfrawg.com/
Blood Bound Books http://bloodboundbooks.net/bloodboundbooks/
Black Ink Horror http://sideshowpressonline.com/
Nightscape Press http://www.nightscapepress.com/
Pedestal http://www.thepedestalmagazine.com/
Psuedopod http://pseudopod.org/
Cutting Block Press http://www.cuttingblock.net/
Smokelong Quarterly http://www.smokelong.com/
Books of the Dead Press http://www.booksofthedeadpress.com/p/about.html
Nightmare Magazine http://nightmare-magazine.com/
Buzzy Mag http://buzzymag.com/
Three-Lobed Burning Eye http://www.3lobedmag.com/ 
More coming soon

Other Works Cited


(Whoo-hoo, look at us, aren't we fancy miss college-pants? Don't judge my pseudo-MLA.)

Bailey, Dale. American Nightmares. Bowling Green: Bowling Green State UP, 1999. Print.

Bloom, Clive, ed. Gothic Horror; A Reader's Guide to Poe and King and Beyond. New York: St. Martin's, 1998. Print.

Colavito, Jason. Knowing Fear: Science, Knowledge and the Development of the Horror Genre. Jefferson, NC: McFarland &, 2008. Print.

Fahy, Thomas Richard. The Philosophy of Horror. Lexington, KY: University of Kentucky, 2010. Kindle.

Joshi, S. T. The Modern Weird Tale. Jefferson, NC: McFarland, 2001. Print.

King, Stephen. Stephen King's Danse Macabre. 2010 ed. New York: Everest House, 1981. Kindle.

Lovecraft, H. P. Supernatural Horror in Literature. New York: Dover Publications, 1973. Web.

Magistrale, Tony, and Sidney Poger. Poe's Children: Connections between Tales of Terror and Detection. New York: Peter Lang, 1999. Print.

Nance, Kevin. "Invasion of the Genre Snatchers." Poets & Writers. Poets & Writers Magazine, Sept. 2008. Web. 30 June 2013.

VanderMeer, Ann, and Jeff VanderMeer. The New Weird. San Francisco: Tachyon Publications, 2008. Web.

Wilson, D. Harlan. "The Science of Horror, the Horror of Science." - Free Online Library. Journal of the Fantastic in the Arts, 1 Jan. 2010. Web. 30 June 2013.

0 comments:

Post a Comment